Audio books read by famous people.

audio books listen

If you like Audio books or if you were thinking of maybe giving them a try you might want to start with familiar voices therefore here I, your loyal book nerd friend, provide you with some.

http://bookriot.com/2016/02/26/8-classic-audiobooks-read-by-famous-people/

http://www.buzzfeed.com/ashleyperez/16-audiobooks-read-by-a-list-celebrities#.lyNXBp5rBq

http://www.openculture.com/2015/02/90-famous-authors-celebrities-read-great-stories-poems.html

http://bettyconfidential.com/ar/ld/a/15-great-celebrity-narrated-audio-books-for-book-lovers-day.html

http://flavorwire.com/268020/audiobooks-and-the-celebrities-who-were-born-to-read-them

I particularly love audio books. Sometimes I switch from a print book to its audio version and vice versa. I did this a lot more often in college for lack of time and I really got into it, it’s a great way to continue with a book when you are busy driving, washing dishes, doing laundry, taking a shower or a bath (if you are too afraid to get your book wet). I also recommend it for safety reasons, believe me you don’t want to be reading while walking on a busy street or cooking, much less if you are as clumsy as me. There’s something funny about audio books, maybe this only happens to me but I doubt it, when I begin an audio book and then switch to the print version, either because I felt like it or because I suddenly want to read on my own speed (despite that, in case you don’t know, audio books now let you switch their speed), the point is that I hear the characters’ voices just like the narrator was reading it before, even more if they do these kind of performances with different tones of voice for each character, and it doesn’t matter how long it has been since I listened to the audio book I can never get rid of those voices which sometimes are very nice and funny but others not so much.

So what do you think about audio books? Which kind do you like? How picky do you get?

I personally prefer one narrator with a single voice for all characters though to be honest I think I have only listened to a couple of audio books with multiple voices. If they make different voices for each of the characters they have to be pretty good at it because if they’re not I get confused or annoyed by it. Other things to consider are the accents and speed, in Spanish I don’t have too much trouble with it, being my native language and all but some accents do bother me. In English it’s simple, in my opinion if the narrator has a strong accent it can be a big plus for the book and the characters, it makes it more unique and special. On the other hand if this gets in the way of understanding what’s actually going on it loses its charm. The natural speed of the audio books can either help to understand and to even make the listeners like the book or almost ruin it for them, I don’t like it when they sort of drag the words and make it very slow and tedious and obviously the other extreme isn’t any better, like when they speak so fast that you don’t understand what they are saying or simply they don’t take the proper pauses which totally stops you from absorbing the words and the full meaning of the story as a whole.

So tell me what you think about it! I would love to know.

Responder

