“Bee Season” by Myla Goldberg – and What I learned from it…

bee-season1

My husband recommended me this book a long time ago and now that I have finally read it I can firmly say: I wish I had never wasted my time with it. I should admit that I went in not knowing too much about it but still hoping for something light and short. This could possibly be a mistake that us, readers, sadly tend to make. In my belief and based only on my experience I think (just learned) we should never go blindly into a book when we are truly not ready to get whatever we may get. Believe me, it’s not as easy as it seems, or at least not to me. I guess that’s partially what happened with this book, I went in blind somehow expecting the book to deliver what I felt like having at that precise moment, not because there were some things that hinted to me it had a few of those elements that I was actually hoping for, but because I, in this crazy little world of mine, somehow assumed that it looked like “that kind of book”. So, was it arrogance or lazinees disguised as “bravery” to have gone blind into this book? I don’t know but I guess what I learned is pretty simple, if you truly don’t feel like taking a risk by reading a book you know nothing about, then don’t.

Anyways, where was I? Right! If I could give this book a -5 stars I would. I finished it because I wanted to be DONE with it. I saw no point in the story and I reaaaally wanted to punch each of these characters in the face. It was craziness over craziness. I couldn’t identify with any of the characters and even though (and to a point) I could see why or how they did what they did or thought what they thought I just don’t buy it, it’s not believable. Don’t waste your time with it, there are faaaar too many good books to read instead, and far too many good books to make a movie of (yes this is directed to you film makers). I must admit… I will still watch the movie online, but only and JUST only because I’m curious about it and also because Richard Gere…

So what did you guys think?

Did you read the book or watch the movie?

How has this “going-blind-into a book-thing” worked out for you?

How often do you do it? I’d love to know!

Sincerely, a disappointed reader.

Responder

